Blogs & Columns » The CLog

'Creative Loafing' Writers Win Five Awards and an Honorable Mention at National AAN Convention


CL's Kia O. Moore takes First Place in the Arts Feature category at AAN convention.
  • CL's Kia O. Moore takes First Place in the Arts Feature category at AAN convention.

Creative Loafing took home five awards and an honorable mention at the 2018 Association of Alternative Newsmedia convention in San Diego on Saturday, including First Place in the Arts Feature category for contributor Kia O. Moore.

Moore was awarded for her February 2017 cover story '5 Artists Who Will Not Be Ignored.'

Editor-in-Chief Mark Kemp won two awards: Second Place in the Music Writing category for a series of feature stories, including coverage of the Bla/Alt black alternative music festival, and Third Place in Columns for a series of editor's notes including a September 20, 2017, reflection on the Charlotte Uprising one year later.

News Editor Ryan Pitkin won Second Place in the new LGBT Coverage category for his cover story on Time Out Youth, and received an Honorable Mention in the Beat Reporting category for a series of crime stories.

CL contributor Lara Americo won Second Place in the Multimedia category for their series "Muslims in Charlotte."

Two other N.C. alt-weeklies also won awards at the AAN convention:

The IndyWeek in the Triangle was nominated for six awards and took three First Place honors: Brian Howe for Arts Criticism; Victoria Bouloubasis, Erica Hellerstein and Sarah Willets for Immigration Coverage; and VC Rogers for Best Cartoon.

And the Triad City Beat in Greensboro won two awards: Senior Editor Jordan Green took Second Place in Political Columns and freelancer Jonathen Michels won Third Place in the Longform News category.

See the full list of winners here; read all of the stories for which Creative Loafing was recognized under "related stories" below.