Theater/Dance/Performance Art

Wicked

When: Wed., March 13, 7:30 p.m., Thu., March 14, 2 & 7:30 p.m., Fri., March 15, 8 p.m., Sat., March 16, 2 & 8 p.m., Sun., March 17, 1:30 & 7 p.m., Tue., March 19, 7:30 p.m., Wed., March 20, 7:30 p.m., Thu., March 21, 7:30 p.m., Fri., March 22, 8 p.m., Sat., March 23, 2 & 8 p.m., Sun., March 24, 1:30 & 7 p.m., Tue., March 26, 7:30 p.m., Wed., March 27, 7:30 p.m., Thu., March 28, 7:30 p.m., Fri., March 29, 8 p.m., Sat., March 30, 2 & 8 p.m. and Sun., March 31, 1:30 & 7 p.m. 2013

Good or evil? In Wicked, you may find yourself asking 'Which witch is which?' The Tony Award-winning Broadway musical — created by Winnie Holzman and Stephen Schwartz, based off of the book by Gregory Maguire, and inspired, of course, by Frank Baum's timeless series and the 1939 motion picture — gives us the scoop on the history of Elphaba, the "Wicked" Witch of the West, and Glinda, the "Good" Witch of the South. Their relationship is complicated; love and hate blur in the face of a sibling-like rivalry that's spiked by the popularity scales. The Witch of the West wasn't always bad, but the cruelty of her younger years explains her hatred towards the residents of Oz. In the end, we've got to give her kudos for embracing her broomstick and hitting the high notes in the show's spellbinding scores.

Anita Overcash

Price: $30 and up


Add a review

Rating

Select a star to rate.