Theater/Dance/Performance Art

Venus in Fur

When: Thu., Oct. 31, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Nov. 1, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 2, 8 p.m., Wed., Nov. 6, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Nov. 7, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Nov. 8, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 9, 8 p.m., Wed., Nov. 13, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Nov. 14, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Nov. 15, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 16, 8 p.m., Sun., Nov. 17, 2:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 20, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Nov. 21, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Nov. 22, 8 p.m. and Sat., Nov. 23, 8 p.m. 2013

Buzz was pretty intense when Venus in Fur hit Broadway two years ago, so it’s no surprise that Actor’s Theatre of Charlotte is bringing David Ives’ sexy two-hander to Charlotte while it’s still piping hot. The seductive comedy has many intriguing layers as life imitates art imitating life — intentionally and instinctually. Playwright Thomas Novachek sets the action in motion, at wit’s end because he cannot find the woman to play the title role in his adaptation of the notorious Venus in Fur, a classic erotic novel. Into the concluded audition suddenly walks Vanda Jordan, the possibly perfect embodiment of the dominatrix heroine. She’s there to read for Thomas and with Thomas, yet as the audition heats up, the two find themselves becoming the novel’s dominatrix and slave — but can it really stop at playacting? Charlotte Fox brings the heat as Vanda, while J.R. Adduci is the playwright who may be losing control of his play and himself. Nicia Carla directs this show.

Perry Tannenbaum

Price: $17 for previews through Nov. 2; $26-$31 for all other shows


Add a review

Rating

Select a star to rate.