Theater/Dance/Performance Art

Theater: Cuttin' Up

When: Fri., Feb. 10, 8 p.m., Sat., Feb. 11, 8 p.m., Wed., Feb. 15, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Feb. 16, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Feb. 17, 8 p.m., Sat., Feb. 18, 8 p.m., Wed., Feb. 22, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Feb. 23, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Feb. 24, 8 p.m., Sat., Feb. 25, 8 p.m., Sun., Feb. 26, 2:30 p.m., Wed., Feb. 29, 7:30 p.m., Thu., March 1, 7:30 p.m., Fri., March 2, 8 p.m. and Sat., March 3, 8 p.m. 2012

Is it just me or is there always a good story to be told at a barbershop? The last time I was there, I heard chatter about a new stomach virus, mohawks and a recent mugging gone wrong. Not the most scandalous of talk, but it sure makes a haircut go quickly. Actor’s Theatre of Charlotte's Cuttin' Up — a play by Charles Randolph-Wright that’s based on Craig Marberry's bestselling book Cuttin' Up: Wit and Wisdom from Black Barber Shops — is buzzing with ear-catching tales proper enough to back my assessment that there's a lot more than snipping hair to these community congregations.

Anita Overcash

Price: $15 for previews on Feb. 10-11; Pay what you can night on Feb. 22; $24-$29 for all other shows

Add a review

Rating

Select a star to rate.