Theater/Dance/Performance Art

The Taming of the Shrew

When: Thu., May 30, 8 p.m., Fri., May 31, 8 p.m., Sat., June 1, 8 p.m., Sun., June 2, 6:30 p.m., Thu., June 6, 8 p.m., Fri., June 7, 8 p.m., Sat., June 8, 8 p.m., Sun., June 9, 6:30 p.m., Thu., June 13, 8 p.m., Fri., June 14, 8 p.m., Sat., June 15, 8 p.m. and Sun., June 16, 6:30 p.m. 2013

Yee-ha! The Bard of Avon meets the Wild, Wild West as the 8th Annual Charlotte Shakespeare Festival kicks off on May 30 with The Taming of the Shrew. In this classic battle of the sexes, boorish Petruchio faces off against shrewish Kate the Curst. Only this time around, Petrook doesn’t come to “wive it” in Padua. At The Green, accents aren’t likely to be Italian or British when J.R. Adducci as our fortune-hunting suitor and Meghan Lowther as his unbroken bride take it west of the Pecos. With whips, lassos, and branding irons, we’ll have to see how far director Christian Casper takes his comical antagonists, wily coyotes both, in this Wild West show. Pre-shows by a potpourri of local performers begin 45 minutes before the mainstage production, so it’s wise to arrive early, bring folding chairs, maybe spread out a picnic, and claim your free seat. For more information, visit www.charlotteshakespeare.com.

Perry Tannenbaum

Price: Free admission ($5 suggested donation)


Tags

Add a review

Rating

Select a star to rate.