Theater/Dance/Performance Art

The Marvelous Wonderettes

When: Fri., June 1, 8 p.m., Sat., June 2, 8 p.m., Wed., June 6, 7:30 p.m., Thu., June 7, 7:30 p.m., Fri., June 8, 8 p.m., Sat., June 9, 8 p.m., Wed., June 13, 7:30 p.m., Thu., June 14, 7:30 p.m., Fri., June 15, 8 p.m., Sat., June 16, 8 p.m., Sun., June 17, 2:30 p.m., Wed., June 20, 7:30 p.m., Thu., June 21, 7:30 p.m., Fri., June 22, 8 p.m. and Sat., June 23, 8 p.m. 2012

Actor's Theatre of Charlotte is fluffing out its poodle skirts for its newest take to the stage, Roger Bean's musical The Marvelous Wonderettes. At a prom in 1958, four vocally gifted gals (with zippy names to match: Billy Jean, Cindy Lou, Missy and Suzy) are thrown into the evening's last-minute entertainment slot. Singing notable '50s and '60s songs — "Lollipop," "Dream Lover," "It's My Party" and more — their snazzy set just wouldn't work as theater some drama to make the sparks fly. After all, what else is high school good for (*cough cough* other than education)? Student rivalries, heart-throb swooning and the crowning of prom queen may seem tame compared to today's ruffling of authoritative feathers over dress codes and dry-hump dancing, but it's the music that matters anyway, right?

Anita Overcash

Price: $24-$29


Creative Loafing Charlotte Pick

Recover - CBD Roll On by Leef Organics

5% Bitcoin back
Roll-on relief by Leef Organics is a unique roller ball that includes cold-pressed, broad-spectrum whole plant CBD blended with wild crafted herbs, all on a mission to bring relief. Click for product details.
Earn bitcoin for shopping with Creative Loafing Charlotte

Add a review

Rating

Select a star to rate.

Creative Loafing Charlotte Pick

THRIVAL Liquid Superfood - CBD Extract

5% Bitcoin back
The THRIVAL CBD formula by Leef Organics is unlike any other cannabis-based wellness product on the market. A daily dose of this superfood helps bring overall wellness to the body. Click for product details.
Earn bitcoin for shopping with Creative Loafing Charlotte