Theater/Dance/Performance Art

The Lion King

When: Tue., Aug. 6, 7:30 p.m., Wed., Aug. 7, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Aug. 8, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Aug. 9, 8 p.m., Sat., Aug. 10, 2 & 8 p.m., Sun., Aug. 11, 1 & 6:30 p.m., Tue., Aug. 13, 7:30 p.m., Wed., Aug. 14, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Aug. 15, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Aug. 16, 8 p.m., Sat., Aug. 17, 2 & 8 p.m., Sun., Aug. 18, 1 & 6:30 p.m., Tue., Aug. 20, 7:30 p.m., Wed., Aug. 21, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Aug. 22, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Aug. 23, 8 p.m., Sat., Aug. 24, 2 & 8 p.m., Sun., Aug. 25, 1 & 6:30 p.m., Tue., Aug. 27, 7:30 p.m., Wed., Aug. 28, 7:30 p.m., Thu., Aug. 29, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Aug. 30, 8 p.m., Sat., Aug. 31, 2 & 8 p.m. and Sun., Sept. 1, 1 & 6:30 p.m. 2013

There’s plenty of reason to purr or roar at the thought of Disney’s The Lion King coming to Belk Theater, from Aug. 6 to Sept. 1. The show, a spectacle of colors, costumes and music reflective of its African setting, has been parading on Broadway for more than 15 years. Based on the movie, which was set to Elton John’s and Tim Rice’s spellbinding songs “Can You Feel The Love Tonight” and “Circle of Life,” respectively, the much-loved plot holds no surprises: Simba, a young lion, must fight his way through the jungle, where a hierarchy becomes apparent at the start of his maturity. Along the way he finds alliances and friendships, true love and a passion for standing his ground in the midst of power mongers and ongoing danger.

Anita Overcash

Price: $25 and up

Add a review

Rating

Select a star to rate.