Theater/Dance/Performance Art

Floyd Collins

When: Thu., April 12, 8 p.m., Fri., April 13, 8 p.m., Sat., April 14, 8 p.m., Thu., April 19, 8 p.m., Fri., April 20, 8 p.m., Sat., April 21, 8 p.m., Thu., April 26, 8 p.m., Fri., April 27, 8 p.m., Sat., April 28, 8 p.m., Sun., April 29, 2:30 p.m., Thu., May 3, 8 p.m., Fri., May 4, 8 p.m., Sat., May 5, 8 p.m., Sun., May 6, 2:30 p.m., Thu., May 10, 8 p.m., Fri., May 11, 8 p.m., Sat., May 12, 8 p.m. and Sun., May 13, 2:30 p.m. 2012

If you're like me and you've never heard of Floyd Collins, then Carolina Actors Studio Theatre’s choice for a play about him may come as a surprise. Based on the true story, Floyd Collins is about a cave explorer who gets trapped in a narrow shaft one hundred feet underground in a Kentucky cave, while searching passageways in 1925. As it was big news at the time, the media went into a frenzy with 'round-the-clock updates on the critical period. (Remember, this was way before anyone had reality TV, so they were tuned in even though there wasn't too much action). And to make matters worse, Collins (played by Jonathan Elliot Coarsey in the CAST staging) didn't even survive the ordeal. So much for a happy ending.

Anita Overcash

Price: $18-$32

Add a review

Rating

Select a star to rate.