Theater/Dance/Performance Art

Bent

When: Thu., Nov. 1, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Nov. 2, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 3, 8 p.m., Sun., Nov. 4, 3 p.m., Wed., Nov. 7, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Nov. 9, 8 p.m., Sat., Nov. 10, 8 p.m., Sun., Nov. 11, 3 p.m., Wed., Nov. 14, 7:30 p.m., Fri., Nov. 16, 8 p.m. and Sat., Nov. 17, 8 p.m. 2012

Max and Rudy are lovers in 1934 Berlin, not the ideal time or place for a homoerotic fling with an SA trooper. When two soldiers burst on the scene and kill their comrade in Martin Sherman's Bent, we begin a long odyssey through the horrors of Nazi Germany, reminded that the Third Reich under Adolf Hitler was as bad for gays as it was for the Jews. Glenn Griffin was Max in 2002 when Off-Tryon Theatre Company staged the electrifying Charlotte premiere in NoDa, and now as artistic director of Queen City Theatre Company, he’s bringing the mind-numbing routine of the Dachau concentration camp to Duke Energy Theater. Griffin's cast includes Kristian Wedolowski, Scott Miller, James Glinski, Charlton Alicea, Steven James and the imposing Matthew Corbett, fresh off his violin-smashing exploits in Charlotte Shakespeare's Opus. For more on Queen City Theatre Company, visit www.queencitytheatre.com.

Perry Tannenbaum

Price: $22-$24

Add a review

Rating

Select a star to rate.